The Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences (formerly called Dispensing Technology) is one of the oldest Departments in the University. The Department runs two (2) main programmes namely Higher National Diploma (HND) in Dispensing Technology and Bachelor of Technology in Pharmaceutical Sciences.
The Department, which was established in 1975, used to run the Dispensing Technician (DT) Certificate programmes. With the upgrade of the Polytechnics in 1992 by PNDC Law 321, the HND programme in Dispensing Technology was introduced to enhance the capacity of graduates. This was a build-up on the earlier Dispensing Technician (DT) Certificate. The aim of the HND programme was to meet the demands of the pharmaceutical industries (hospitals, community pharmacies, etc.) by equipping graduates with the skills to handle minor repairs on the equipment and machines they handle, and also to help them carry out basic quality control procedures.
The Bachelor of Technology (BTech) programme, introduced in 2021, is an undergraduate degree that is awarded after students have completed the required set of courses which are more practical-based. The BTech programme has been designed to train students to acquire technical knowledge and skills required for effective and efficient execution of tasks, especially in the manufacture of quality pharmaceutical, chemical and herbal products. Individuals gain in-depth knowledge and skills on what is involved in the formulation of medicines, and how the finished products can be analyzed. 


To be the Centre of Excellence for the training of technologically competent and pro-active manpower for the healthcare sector and the pharmaceutical industry. 


Producing competent workforce for the pharmaceutical and related industries through effective teaching and experiential training.

Core Values

  • Discipline 
  • Modesty 
  • Decency
  • Accuracy
  • Precision