The Faculty of Health Sciences was carved off from the then Faculty of Applied Sciences in 2011, when the institution was Kumasi Polytechnic. The aim of creating the new Faculty was to take care of the increasing number of health-related programmes in the institution.  
The Faculty started with one Department, the Department of Dispensing Technology (DT), now the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. The Department of Laboratory Technology, which had been in the pipeline for some time was finally given accreditation to run Medical Laboratory Technology and Science and Industrial Laboratory Technology in 2014. There were other programmes such as Nursing, and Sports Science and Management which could not be rolled out then.
Currently, the Faculty runs six (6) programmes; three (3) Higher National Diploma (HND) and three (3) Bachelor of Technology (BTech). 
Plans are far advanced to introduce other Bachelor’s degree and Masters’ degree programmes. 


To be a leading centre of excellence in innovative research and teaching in health sciences in Africa. 


Creating the foundation for transfer of knowledge and technology to support and improve the quality of services in healthcare, industries, and society.

Core Values

  • Discipline 
  • Honesty 
  • Commitment to duty
  • Responsibility
  • Diligence